HARD... RAW... DEEP... FUNK: February 2012

Sunday, February 19, 2012

Bubbha Thomas & The Lightmen - Country Fried Chicken (1975)

"Drummer Bubbha Thomas is working here in a mode that's kind of an electrified 70s take on the Texas showband style of earlier years – a mode that has the core funky combo augmented by electric keys and moog in just the right places! The tunes on the set are all instrumentals – jamming along in a sweet little style that mixes funky jazz with some of the rougher touches of the indie 45 scene – letting the band stretch out on extended solos on most cuts, but still keeping the rhythms very tight and in the pocket! In a way, the approach almost feels like some of the funkier work on Tribe Records from Detroit, especially on tracks that have more ambitious solo work. Players include Doug Harris on flute and tenor, Ronnie Laws on tenor, John Henderson on electric piano, and a young Hugh Ragin on trombone – and titles include "Herbs Of Life", "Sweet Ray", "Famous Last Words", "Country Fried Chicken", and "Survival Song"."



1. Bubbha Thomas & The Lightmen - Country Fried Chicken (6:09)
2. Bubbha Thomas & The Lightmen - All In Love Is Fair (5:06)
3. Bubbha Thomas & The Lightmen - Survival Song (6:48)
4. Bubbha Thomas & The Lightmen - Herbs (Of Life) (4:54)
5. Bubbha Thomas & The Lightmen - Famous Last Words (5:41)
6. Bubbha Thomas & The Lightmen - Sweet Ray (10:33)

Bubbha Thomas & The Lightmen - Sweet Ray

Monday, February 6, 2012

The Fabulous Counts - Jan, Jan (1969)

"Detroit funk unit the Fabulous Counts formed in 1968, uniting keyboardist Mose Davis, guitarist Leroy Emanuel, alto saxophonist Demo Cates, tenor saxophonist Jim White, and drummer Raoul Keith Mangrum. Earning local notice as both headliners and a jack-of-all-trades backing band for national touring acts, the group eventually teamed with noted producer Richard "Popcorn" Wylie, recording the cult classic "Jan, Jan" for the Motor City label Moira in late 1968. Distinguished by Davis' banshee-wail Hammond organ, and the dueling saxophones of White and Cates, the instrumental fell just shy of the national R&B Top 40 charts in early 1969. Noted for its scorching White solo, the Fabulous Counts' sophomore effort, "Dirty Red," further solidified their edgy urban funk sound, although commercial interest was negligible. The group's third single, "Get Down People," proved their biggest hit -- complete with vocals, conga drums, and a deeply soulful Emanuel guitar solo; it spent nine weeks on the R&B charts in 1970 and highlighted the Fabulous Counts' lone LP, Jan, Jan, produced by Detroit legend Ollie McLaughlin and issued on Cotillion. They left the label the following year for local imprint Westbound, swapping out a few members and continuing as simply the Counts."



1. The Fabulous Counts - It's A Man's Man's Man's World (3:51)
2. The Fabulous Counts - Simple Song (2:55)
3. The Fabulous Counts - Hey Jude (3:25)
4. The Fabulous Counts - The Bite (2:40)
5. The Fabulous Counts - Soulful Strut (2:24)
6. The Fabulous Counts - Dirty Red (2:13)
7. The Fabulous Counts - Who's Making Love (2:16)
8. The Fabulous Counts - Scrambled Eggs (2:26)
9. The Fabulous Counts - The Other Thing (2:36)
10. The Fabulous Counts - Girl From Kenya (2:51)
11. The Fabulous Counts - Jan Jan (2:11)

The Fabulous Counts - Dirty Red