HARD... RAW... DEEP... FUNK: The Nite-Liters - Instrumental Directions (1970)

Saturday, March 19, 2011

The Nite-Liters - Instrumental Directions (1970)

"Harvey Fuqua and Tony Churchill formed the Nite-Liters in 1963 in Louisville. When the band subsequently expanded to 17 members, with a pair of vocal groups and a instrumental ensemble, they were renamed New Birth, Inc. Churchill, Austin Lander, James Baker, Robert Jackson, Leroy Taylor, and Robin Russell were the original bandmembers. Ben Boxtel, Roger Voice, and James Hall were later recruits. They had two mild instrumental hits for RCA in 1971 and 1972, with "K-Jee" making the R&B Top 20."



1. The Nite-Liters - (Them) Changes (4:52)
2. The Nite-Liters - Afro-Strut (2:52)
3. The Nite-Liters - Bakers Instant (3:43)
4. The Nite-Liters - Brand X (4:39)
5. The Nite-Liters - Cherish Every Precious Moment (3:02)
6. The Nite-Liters - I've Got Dreams to Remember (3:48)
7. The Nite-Liters - Medley: MacArthur Park-What's Going On-Fuqua's Theme (4:03)
8. The Nite-Liters - Respect to the Other Man (5:08)
9. The Nite-Liters - Theme From Shaft (4:17)
10. The Nite-Liters - Wichita Lineman (5:08)

The Nite-Liters - (Them) Changes


  1. Great, thank you so much for this! I love your Blog.

    Astral Traveller

    "Look, there´s a new Blog in Town"
    I N L O V E W I T H A B E A T

    (Raw Soul, Deep Jazz, Rare Funk, Eclectic & Electric Beatz, Mixes, Deep Voodoo Vibes)